	1	7	4	3
- (1	3.	, I	4

SN 369/02

ONE EUROPE

Today is a great moment for Europe. We have today concluded accession negotiations between the European Union and Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. 75 million people will be welcomed as new citizens of the European Union.

We, the current and acceding Member States, declare our full support for the continuous, inclusive and irreversible enlargement process. The accession negotiations with Bulgaria and Romania will continue on the basis of the same principles that have guided the negotiations so far. The results already achieved in these negotiations will not be brought into question. Depending on further progress in complying with the membership criteria, the objective is to welcome Bulgaria and Romania as new members of the European Union in 2007. We also welcome the important decisions taken today concerning the next stage of Turkey's candidature for membership of the European Union.

Our common wish is to make Europe a continent of democracy, freedom, peace and progress. The Union will remain determined to avoid new dividing lines in Europe and to promote stability and prosperity within and beyond the new borders of the Union. We are looking forward to working together in our joint endeavour to accomplish these goals.

Our aim is One Europe.

Belgium		Czech Republic	Denmark
Gennany		Estonia	Greece
Spain		France	Ireland
Italy		Cyprus	Latvia
Lithuania		Luxembourg	Hungary
Malta		Netherlands	Austria
Poland	*	Portugal	Slovenia
Slovakia		Finland	Sweden
United Kingdom			